Remember when …

DSCN4542I remember a summer, not so long ago, when we picked about a hundred apples from the tree in our garden.  I made apple pies, apple sauce and stewed them with cinnamon to have with yoghourt.

Thanks to a wet and miserable Spring,  this is the entire crop for this year.  They’re smaller and it’s hardly worth while making room in the freezer for them.  So … maybe next year then … 😦

A week later, I had to bin the lot (if that’s the right word) of them.  😦   I discovered that the tray was littered with little piles of brown powder, a bit like cinnamon actually.  There must have been some grub or something mining away in a few of them.  (And I’d purposely picked them early to stop the birds damaging them…)

About Sandra

I cruise the French waterways with my husband four or five months a year, and write fiction and poetry. I love animals, F1 motor racing, French bread and my husband, though not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Flora and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Remember when …

  1. How lovely that you have a fruit tree! I buy my apples at the farmers market and often make applesauce to freeze. Last year, due to weather, there weren’t nearly as many apples so we’ll have to wait until fall for this year’s crop.

    janet

    Like

  2. Formula one first I think, though Vettel may soon knock it off number one spot and then maybe Hubby will get to take over?

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Yes, I’m not a Vettel fan at all and if things keep on like this I think you’re right. F1 days are getting to be as predictable as in the Schumacher era. 😦 Hubby knows where he stands, though now that I think about it… french bread…hmmm

      Like

I welcome comments, and would love to hear from you

